A Great Mentor Inspires Positive Growth!

Honey

Meet Honey!  She is now 14 years old.  When I first got her, she fit in the palm of my hand.  She makes me smile!

 

During the past 14 years, one manager invested in me and helped me move into the next level of my career.  We learned from each other through upfront conversations, even in difficult times.  An excerpt of what he wrote “A great deal has been accomplished during a very problematic year.  As we review these accomplishments and plan for the future, we need to be realistic and optimistic.  It has been great working with you Wendy.  I look forward to planning for the future and putting our plans into operation.”   He set realistic benchmarks, performance expectations and mutually agreed upon goals.

 

Prior to my evaluation, I had to rate my performance on 37 benchmarks and goals; he would separately complete the evaluation.  Then we had a two-way conversation.  Prior to those meetings, I recall my hands feeling cool and clammy like a cucumber.  Though I dreaded those conversations, I grew.

 

Our discussions often gave us  different perspectives and ideas that got results.  Why?  We had a meaningful professional relationship based on mutual respect.  I valued his opinion; he valued my effort, ideas and feedback.  My work had value!

 

Under his leadership, as noted in a performance review I “established meaningful professional relationships, respected by clients, funders, staff and other area professionals”.  Within six months of being employed, I was promoted me to his Senior Management Team.  I stayed on his team, until he retired.

 

A great mentor inspires positive growth!  When you do find the balance of a mutually beneficial relationship it inspires profound growth, engagement and results.

 

Everyday, I am inspired by all the meaningful relationships that empower me to care, have empathy, continually learn, grow and change.  That is what inspires me to make a difference where I live, work and play.

 

The Human Service Forum shares a great read by Forbes: 6 Reasons Leaders Make Bad Decisions https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/?shva=1#inbox/1411231666bde2b6

 

“Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much”. ~ Helen Keller

Leave a comment

Filed under Leadership

Leave a Reply

